Ravens sign 11 rookie free agents, announce two roster cuts


OWINGS MILLS, Md. — With the Ravens conducting their 2016 rookie minicamp this weekend, they announced the signings of 11 rookie free agents as well as the departure of two players on Friday.
Baltimore waived running back Terrence Magee and wide receiver Chuck Jacobs as both were victims of the crowded depth chart at their respective positions.
The organization signed Baylor guard Jarell Broxton, Florida Atlantic defensive tackle Trevon Coley, Harvard center Anthony Fabiano, Middle Tennessee State inside linebacker Cavellis Luckett, Georgia State kicker Wil Lutz, Colorado offensive tackle Stephane Nembot, Stony Brook outside linebacker Victor Ochi, Michigan outside linebacker Mario Ojemudia, Portland State inside linebacker Patrick Onwuasor, Samford defensive tackle Michael Pierce, and Duke center Matt Skura as rookie free agents.
The group is headlined by Ochi, who was the Colonial Athletic Association co-defensive player of the year and finished the 2015 season with 13 sacks, good for second at the FCS level. Another notable pickup was Broxton, who made 21 starts in two years at Baylor and was a first-team all-Big 12 selection by the Associated Press.
Though the signing of draft picks has become elementary since the latest collective bargaining agreement was signed in 2011, the Ravens announced they reached deals with second-round outside linebacker Kamalei Correa, fourth-round running back Kenneth Dixon, fourth-round defensive tackle Willie Henry, fifth-round outside linebacker Matt Judon, fourth-round offensive tackle Alex Lewis, and Cincinnati wide receiver Chris Moore to four-year contracts. Five of their 2016 draft picks remain unsigned, including first-round offensive tackle Ronnie Stanley, but those players are still allowed to take part in rookie minicamp.
The Ravens also announced jersey numbers for their rookie players:
2016 draft class
OT Ronnie Stanley — No. 79
OLB Kamalei Correa — No. 51
DE Bronson Kaufusi — No. 92
CB Tavon Young — No. 43
WR Chris Moore — No. 81
OT Alex Lewis — No. 72
DT Willie Henry — No. 69
RB Kenneth Dixon — No. 48
OLB Matt Judon — No. 91
WR/RS Keenan Reynolds — No. 6
CB Maurice Canady — No. 49
2016 rookie free agents
G Jarell Broxton — No. 61
DT Trevon Coley — No. 70
C Anthony Fabiano — No. 65
ILB Cavellis Luckett — No. 46
K/P Wil Lutz — No. 3
OT Stephane Nembot — No. 67
OLB Victor Ochi — No. 44
OLB Mario Ojemudia — No. 53
ILB Patrick Onwuasor — No. 47
DT Michael Pierce — No. 78
C Matt Skura — No. 62